List of notable signatories

Notable signatories: 119 verified.

Name Position and affiliation, or personal comment Date signed
Prof. Don Rubin

Editor, World Encyclopedia of Contemporary Theatre; Former Chair, Dept. of Theatre; Former Director, Grad. Program in Theatre Studies, York University, Toronto

Sir Mark Rylance

Actor; Artistic Director, Shakespeare's Globe Theatre 1995-2006; Associate Artist, Royal Shakespeare Company; Chairman, The Shakespearean Authorship Trust.

Prof. Bernd E. H. A. Schuenemann

Professor Emeritus; Dr honoris causa mult; Director, Institute for Lawyer's Law; former Chair, Criminal Law, Philosophy, Sociology of Law, University of München

Mike Scott

Singer, songwriter, artist, author; founder & guitarist, The Waterboys; wrote ‘The Whole of The Moon’; Fellow, Findhorn Foundation; Ivor Novello Award recipient

Prof. Jack M. Shuttleworth, Ph.D.

Professor of English, Emeritus, United States Air Force Academy; long time Oxfordian; editing the Oxfordian edition of Hamlet.

Dean Keith Simonton, Ph.D.

Distinguished Professor and Vice Chair, Department of Psychology, University of California at Davis; Sir Francis Galton Award for the Study of Creativity, 1996.

Mr. Edward Smith

Former CEO, City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra (Simon Rattle, Music Director) and of Toronto and Gothenburg (Gustavo Dudamel, Music Dir.) Symphony Orchestras

Frank-Patrick Steckel

German theatre director (Hoffmann, Shakespeare und das Deutsche Theater im XX. Jahrhundert)

John Paul Stevens

Justice, U.S. Supreme Court

Prof. Peter A. Sturrock, Ph.D.

Emeritus Professor of Applied Physics, Stanford University; author, "AKA Shakespeare: A Scientific Approach to the Authorship Question"

Prof. Carol Symes, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of History, Theatre, Medieval Studies, Classics - University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign (theatre historian-practitioner)

Geir Håvard Uthaug, M.A.

Norwegian writer/poet/translator; biographer of William Blake & Henrik Wergeland; translator of Blake, Conrad, Shakespeare (Richard II), others; numerous awards

Dr. Bessel A. Van der Kolk, M.D.

Professor of Psychiatry, Boston University School of Medicine; author, "The Body keeps the Score," NY Times best seller 117 weeks, translated into 36 languages

Prof. Andreas von Arnauld

Director, Walther Schücking Institute for International Law, University of Kiel, Germany, founded in 1914

David Rains Wallace, M.A.

Nature writer and conservationist; author of twenty books, including “The Monkey’s Bridge” and “The Klamath Knot,” winner of numerous literary awards and honors

Mr. Alexander Evelyn M. Waugh

Author of several books, including "Time", "God", "Fathers & Sons", "House of Wittgenstein"; Editor, 42 Vol. "Complete Works of Evelyn Waugh", OUP (forthcoming)

Mr. Robert Wolf, M.A.

American writer and journalist; recipient of Bronze Medal Award for radio commentary, Sigma Delta Chi Award, both from the Society of Professional Journalists

Dr. Alan L. Woods, D. Phil.

Emeritus Director, Lawrence and Lee Theatre Research Institute, Ohio State University; Central Ohio Theater Critics Circle Roy Bowen Lifetime Achievement Award

Mr. Michael York, M.A.

Actor and author, "A Shakespearean Actor Prepares"


Sign the declaration