List of notable signatories

Notable signatories: 68 verified.

Name Position and affiliation, or personal comment Date signed
Mr. Joseph Adler

Producing Artistic Director, GableStage; winner of numerous awards for theatre & film directing, including a Clio and eleven Carbonell Awards for Best Director

Alan K. Austin

Producer of documentary "The Shakespeare Mystery," Frontline (PBS). Author of novels "The Adagio" and (due in 2011) "A Walking Shadow" (involving Edward DeVere)

Prof. Babette Babich, Ph.D.

Professor of Philosophy, Fordham University, NYC

Mr. Samuel Blumenfeld

Author of ten books on education in America, including "Alpha-Phonics" and "How to Tutor;" author of "The Marlowe-Shakespeare Connection" (McFarland, 2008)

Prof. Daniel Jean Noël Bougnoux, Ph.D.

Professor of Philosophy (ret.), Stendhal University; author of 16 books on aesthetics, literature, communication; editor, Aragon's complete works in La Pléiade

Mrs. Helena Brodin Friberg

Swedish actress of The Royal Dramatic Theatre of Stockholm; appeared in more than 40 films and television shows, 1960 - 2000; co-author, “Täcknamn Shakespeare”

Prof. Edward I. Brodkin, Ph.D.

Lucretia L. Allyn Professor Emeritus of History, Connecticut College, New London, CT, USA

Dr. William J. Bullock, Ph.D.

Professor of Music Emeritus, Columbus (Georgia) State University; Executive Director, RiverCenter for the Performing Arts, Columbus, GA

Ms. Sophy Burnham

Bestselling author of 13 books and award-winning plays, with works translated into more than 20 languages, and many millions of copies sold.

Mr. Michael William Cecil

8th Marquess of Exeter, 17th Earl of Exeter, 18th Baron Burghley

Charles Champlin

Former Arts Critic Emeritus, Los Angeles Times; founding member of the Shakespeare Authorship Roundtable of Los Angeles.

Mr. Thomas Jewell Coad

Former President, Washington Newspaper Publishers Association

Prof. Roberto Colombo, Ph.D.

Professor of Cytology, University of Milan; internationally-recognized leader in the field; former Visiting Fellow, Warwick University Developmental Biology Lab

Keir C. Cutler, Ph.D.

Actor, playwright; doctorate in theatre. Adapted Mark Twain's "Is Shakespeare Dead?" Performed it across Canada, and it was televised nationally.

Dr. Jeffery W. Donaldson, Ph.D.

Professor, Dept. of English, McMaster University, Hamilton, ON, Canada; Poet and Author of “Slack Action” (2013), “Echo Soundings” (2014), “Missing Link” (201

Mr. Ben Donenberg

Artistic Director, Shakespeare Center of Los Angeles; Juilliard graduate; Presidentially-appointed and US Senate-confirmed Member, National Council on the Arts

Prof. Allen R. Dyer, M.D., Ph.D.

Professor of Psychiatry & Behavioral Sciences, The George Washington University, Washington, DC; former chairman of departments of psychiatry at two med schools

Peter Eisner

Author and Journalist; former editor and reporter, Washington Post, Newsday, Associated Press; wrote award-winning books The Freedom Line and The Italian Letter

Roland Emmerich

Film Director, Producer, Writer. I have serious doubts about the Stratford man's claim to the authorship of the plays attributed to him.

Mr. Louis Fantasia

President, Deep Springs College. Personally, I believe Shakespeare is Shakespeare; but I welcome the discussion.

Prof. James Fisher, M.F.A.

Head, Department of Theatre, University of North Carolina at Greensboro

Robin Fox

University Professor of Social Theory, Rutgers University; Founder, Department of Anthropology at Rutgers; Member of the National Academy of Sciences.

Mr. Gosta Friberg

Swedish writer, poet and translator; co-founder of the Writers' Centre; former editor, Lyrikvännen, winner of numerous awards; co-author, "Täcknamn Shakespeare"

Dr. Graeme Garrard, Ph.D.

Fellow of the Royal Historical Society (FRHistS), Senior Lecturer, School of European Studies, Cardiff University

Mrs. Jepke Goudsmit

Co-director Kinetic Energy Theatre Company

Mr. Simon Gribben, M.B.A.

Award-winning writer, producer, director, editor of television news; several Emmys as a producer of specials, news series and sports series; five films in MoMA

Prof. Hans Gutzmann, M.D.

Professor of Psychiatry, Charité Berlin, Germany; President, German Society for Geriatric Psychiatry and Psychotherapy

Mr. Sebastian Harcombe

Course Director, BA Acting at the Royal Academy of Dramatic Art, London (RADA)

Mr. Christopher L. Harris, M.F.A.

Professor of Theatre, Willamette University; Former President, Oak Park Festival Theatre, Chicago; Meritorious Achievement Awards, Kennedy Center/ACT Festival

Mr. Michael Heath

Actor, author, director, producer; Artistic Director, Red Wine Cinema

Mr. Gareth L. Howell, J.D.

President, St David's Welsh Society, DC; former president, World Affairs Council, Cincinnati; former programs director, UN Int’l. Training Center, Torino, Italy

Jeremy Irons


Sir Derek Jacobi

Shakespearian Actor

Kevin Orlin Johnson, Ph.D.

Religion scholar and columnist; author of several best-selling books on the Catholic religion, including "Why Do Catholics Do That?"

Mr. Graham Jones, M.Sc.

Co-director Kinetic Energy Theatre Company

Ekkehart R.A. Krippendorff, Ph.D.

Professor Emeritus of Political Science, Free University of Berlin; Shakespeare scholar, author of two monographs: "Politics in Sh's Dramas" and "Sh's Comedies"

Dr. Richard J. Leigh, M.D.

Blair-Daroff Emeritus Professor of Neurology, Case Western Reserve University, Cleveland, Ohio, USA; Bachelor, MD degrees, University of Newcastle-upon-Tyne, UK

Ms. Ellen Dinerman Little, M.A.

Co-President & co-founder of The Little Film Company; Executive Producer, Richard III, starring Ian McKellen (1995), and Titus, starring Anthony Hopkins (1999)

Dr. Saladin D. Meckled-Garcia, Ph.D.

Lecturer in Political Philosophy, Director: UCL Institute for Human Rights

Bob Meyers

President Emeritus, National Press Foundation; former reporter, "The Washington Post" (worked on Watergate investigation); twice nominated for Pulitzer Prize

Leigh Michaels

Best-selling author of over 100 books, published in 120 countries and 25 languages; winner of multiple awards for journalism, feature writing and romance novels

Dr. Mark Andrew Morris, Ph.D.

Visiting Scholar-in-Residence, Faculty of Arts, University of Alberta. As Canada's most-performed librettist, I cannot believe the Stratford man was the author.

James Newcomb

Actor, 14 seasons with Oregon Shakespeare Festival; Founding Company Member, Shakespeare & Co.; Artistic Excellence Award from the Shakespeare Oxford Society

Paul E. Nicholson

Executive Director of the Oregon Shakespeare Festival, one of the two largest theatres in the United States

Mr. Alexander Nitzberg, M.A.

Austrian poet and translator of literature from Russian and English into German (e.g. the complete sonnets of Edmund Spenser, works of Anna Akhmatova etc.)

Justice Sandra Day O'Connor (Ret.)

U.S. Supreme Court Justice (Ret.)

Mr. Jack Ofield

Emeritus Professor of Film, San Diego State University; veteran film/TV producer/director; Member, Directors Guild of America; Fellow, American Film Institute

Mr. Mark Olshaker

Documentary filmmaker; writer-producer of "Discovering Hamlet," novelist and nonfiction author; coauthor of "Mindhunter," other books on criminal investigation.

Chris John Pannell, M.A.

Author of six books of poetry, incl. “Drive,” winner of the Acorn-Plantos Peoples Poetry Prize in 2010; host of the “Lit Live” reading series, Hamilton, Ontario

Ann Pasternak Slater, Ph.D.

Former Fellow, St. Anne's College, Oxford; author, “Shakespeare the Director”; daughter of Eliot Slater, granddaughter of Gilbert Slater, also notable doubters


Sign the declaration